What are T Levels?

T levels are a set of new qualifications that start in September 2020. They can be taken post 16 and will be offered by a number of colleges initially before being rolled out across the country. T levels will be an alternative to A levels and they will offer a more work-focused course of study, courses which are more vocational and prepare students for employment within specific industries. Each T-level will be worth 3 A Levels and will be studied as a 2-year course. The courses will be designed with industry in mind and as a result, they will contain placements and more practical input to prepare students for a career in that specific industry.

Each t-level placement will last a minimum of 315 hours with some extending well beyond this where required. These T level qualifications will be the precursor to a high-level apprenticeship or lead students directly into a related job. The following t levels will be offered.

  • Accountancy t level
  • T levels in agriculture, land management and production
  • Animal care and management t level
  • T level in building services engineering
  • T level catering
  • T level craft and design
  • Cultural heritage and visitor attractions T level
  • Design, development and control t level
  • T level in design, surveying and planning
  • Digital business services t level
  • T level in digital production, design and development
  • Digital support and services t level
  • Education t level
  • Financial t level
  • T level in hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • Health t level
  • Healthcare science t level
  • Human resources t level – HR t level
  • T level in law – legal t level
  • Maintenance, installation and repair t-level
  • T level in management and administration
  • T level in manufacturing and process
  • T level in media, broadcast and production
  • Onsite construction t-level
  • Science t level